Burning Up (Hand Me The Lighter, I’d Like To Give Myself Scars)

These wings may give me flight,
But your love will always be my burden.
Stick a needle in my eye,
But I know I’ll never truly leave you behind.

What use is oxygen if you can’t see people breathe in?
I’m falling over cliff edges, I know you won’t regret it.
Stick a needle in my eye,
I’d rather go blind than never see your light.

You’re the alcohol I need, the drugs I breathe.
And even when the spark in my heart…
You’re the alcohol I need, the drugs I breathe.
Flickers out.

You can drag me across these burning embers,
If it meant I could hold on just a little bit longer.
And I’d rather pluck my own feathers,
Than forget you forever.
And I’d burn myself up, burn myself up.

Spread your ashes, light me a path.
I’ll be your oxygen, you be the flame.
We can give us up to each other,
Like this is our first surrender.

You can drag me across these burning embers,
If it meant I could hold on just a little bit longer.
And I’d rather pull out my own feathers,
Than forget you forever.
And I’d burn myself up, burn myself up,
For you.
You can drag me across these burning embers,
If it meant I could hold on just a little bit longer.
And I’d rather pluck my own feathers,
Than forget you forever.
And I’d burn myself up, burn myself up.

I did this all for you, I did this all for you,
I did what I did for you, I did this all for you,
You can drag me across these burning embers,
If it meant I could hold on just a little bit longer.
And I’d rather pluck my own feathers,
Than forget you forever.
And I’d burn myself up, burn myself up.

And we’re dying out like a flame underneath a jar…

Leave a Reply

